This, that, and the other…

All about Stockard WordPress.com weblog

It’s ‘Only’ a Play

IOAP.Billing

Since when is something deemed only if it remotely involves the amazing Stockard Channing? Of course, I am talking about the (soon to be) Award nominated It’s Only a Play at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre, located at 236 West 45th Street in the fanciest city in the States; New York! So, anyway, the plan was…to go to the play on December 5th. I’ve got my tickets and everything already. But since the play is extended and I need to be a bit more financially stable before I go (alone, at that, perhaps, like my pal Claire, who came all the way from Dublin all alone to see it). Though she is oh-so-biased, she said that Stockard rocked her part, which I completely believe.

Stockard’s part? Oh, my dear, it’s fabulous! She is the star of the play, within the play! She plays the actress of the ‘play’ that the play is about. Have I lost you yet? Probably, but you can read the plot here: http://itsonlyaplay.com/about-the-show/ . Anyway, Stockard’s role as Virginia Noyes, the star of the play, is an aging-losing-her-looks-doped-up-diva-under-house-arrest (yes, complete with an ankle monitor which she shows off along with those gorgeous toned legs, really she does NOT look her age). Is that not the best? Apparently, her character is tipsy and doped up and is a complete diva, which Stockard is absolutely not, so what a stretch this is for her. Although to think about it nothing is a stretch for Lady Channing, bless her.

channing2

I mean, look at that face! Look at that smokin’ body, and she’s got talent oozing from every pore of her body. She is the most talented person I have ever met! And I am going to go see her. I would love to meet her once again, but, if I don’t I will understand. I understand. I am a big girl. I mean, she is working for like, ten-twelve hours a day, doing two shows every day (one matinee’ and one at night) and she used a night off to be a part of a ten-minute play for her old pal John Guare entitled ‘Between’ (A new play by John Guare-of Six Degrees of Separation fame– featured in What If…? Performed by Stockard Channing and John Guare Directed by Jack O’Brien). What a trooper she is! How could I expect her to come out of the stage door and stand, in the freezing cold, to meet me, a lowly fan who means nothing, yet everything to her? I must state here that I consider myself her biggest US fan.

Anyway, I am going to the play, come Hell or High Water. I am debating about the money, the dates (seeing Wicked, of course). Hoping the moms will go, of course, but she may not. But, hey, I can trek it alone, I think. And, of course, a later date would allow me to stay in my favorite hotel, The New York Marriott Marquis (in Times Square)! Yay! I already have a bit of cash saved up, so I am certain I will make it there. I will also do my part with the famous poster:

10704113_692814054144261_1262799648382227236_n

And take something called ‘It’s Only a Selfie’.

AN: And, if by chance you read this, my lovely Stockard, I know why you haven’t been coming out of the theatre to meet fans. And I want you to know that you are very beloved and I am truly sorry for any pain that you have been in before the run of the play and possibly still. My love and prayers are always with you, and I hope that you appreciate that more than you know. I think you need a very special hug. If by chance I meet you, you’ll get one. Or two.

P.S. She got about six hugs. At least. She is so sweet!

selfiemecropped

November 15, 2014 - Posted by | Stockard Channing (Plays)

2 Comments »

  1. Pain she’s been in?
    Sorry for all the questions today. Just so thrilled there’s a Stockard fan out there who seems to have much more info than I do on my favorite actress.

    Comment by L E | November 5, 2015 | Reply

    • She badly hurt her knee and was forced out of the play for a few weeks on doctors orders. Hence the cane. She had to use it when she came back into the play so they just kept it for her character. Probably an insurance thing.

      Comment by stockardfan | November 5, 2015 | Reply


Leave a comment